Oxfordshire Past 2017 will be held on 17th June at the Barns Centre, Thame from 10.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m. The event is now well established in the Oxfordshire calendar for all those interested in history and archaeology and has an extensive programme covering a range of talks from experts in their field. The O.A.H.S. AGM will be held during the lunch break.
The OAHS journal Oxoniensia is now available online. All but the most recent five volumes are freely available under a Creative Commons licence; the most recent volumes are available to subscribers.
Excursion: Honington Hall and Stanway House
Date: May 11th 2017
Honington Hall is a Caroline manor house built in the early 1680s in mellow red brick with stone quoins decorated with carved busts and with tall chimneys; the perfect model for a dolls' house. The interior was lavishly remodelled in 1740s and includes good plasterwork and an octagonal salon. The owner, Benjamin Wiggin, will personally show us around his home. Stanway House is an outstandingly beautiful example of a Jacobean manor house, owned by Tewkesbury Abbey for 800 years, then for 500 years by the Tracy family and their descendants, the Earls of Wemyss who still live there. We have a private tour of the house, its fascinating furniture, the jewel-like Gatehouse, the 300 foot high fountain, the church and 14th-century Tithe Barn, the 18th-century water-garden, and the specimen trees and avenues. Also included in our visit is the Estate watermill, powered by a 24ft diameter waterwheel, and producing wholemeal and sifted flour from wheat grown on Stanway Estate.
Excursion: Historic Haddenham
Date: June 3rd 2017
Peter Gulland, a local historian, will guide us on a two mile walk, some on cobbled streets, around the historic market town of Haddenham, through the three hamlets which formed the origins of the mediaeval village, to include witchert buildings and walls, a Quaker Cemetery, the old market and the Minster Church. Tea etc., included in the entry fee, will conclude the tour at the Bradmoor teashop at about 3.45 pm.
Oxfordshire Past 2017
Date: June 17th 2017
Place: Barns Centre, Thame
Excursion: Silk Merchants house, Marlborough and Wadsworth Brewery
Date: July 8th 2017
The Merchant House of Thomas Bayly, Silk Merchant, was built following the Great Fire of Marlborough in 1653. Over the years 1653 to 1700 a fine timber and brick building was constructed, its interior brilliant with wall paintings, panelling and a commanding oak staircase. A substantial amount of this fabric survives and previously hidden painted decoration is still being revealed. We have a private guided tour before the house opens to the public. The Wadsworth Brewery, a Victorian Tower Brewery completed in 1885. The type of building was typical for the period; electricity distribution had not been developed and the only power assistance resulted in the fashion of building a tall tower type brewery using what power there was to lift the ingredients of the brew to the top of the brewery and letting gravity power apply thereafter in the various stages of brewing. We have a private guided tour at 2.00 pm.
Excursion: Cowley Works Mini Plant
Date: August 16th 2017
An exclusive guided tour of about 2½ hours and over approx. 2 miles, some outdoors, for a party of 15 only at £14.75 per person. Bookings taken on first come first served basis. If there is more interest above 15 members, others can join a public tour at the same time, of the same scope and duration at £19.00 per head, but if there is great demand, a second group of 15 might be arranged.
Excursion: Nether Winchendon House and Chenies Manor House
Date: September 19th 2017
Nether Winchendon House is a unique Strawberry Hill Gothick mediaeval Manor House situated in a valley at the foot of the Chilterns. It has passed by family descent for over 450 years and remains a family home to this day. Sir Scrope Bernard, Bart, redesigned the mediaeval and Tudor exterior and clad the original timber-framed house in stone and then encased it in stucco in the Strawberry Hill Gothick style. The Grand Portico on the West Front was also added at this time. Tudor chimneys curl majestically above, next to an elegant cupola. The house is now lived in by Robert and Georgianna Spencer Bernard and their family. One of the family members will give us a private guided tour of the house. Chenies manor house, which forms the core of the present day structure, was built by Sir John Cheyne in approximately 1460. In the centre of the main house, there is an unusual spiral staircase where the handrail has been carved into the brick. The house includes a medieval well, a dungeon and a reputed priest hole. Nickolaus described it as “beautifully mellow under the trees by the church, and archaeologically a fascinating puzzle.”
Society of Landscape Studies Conference
Date: October 21st 2017
Society of Landscape Studies Conference, co-hosted by OAHS in Oxford. More details to follow.
The Society's speaker meetings and committee meetings are held in Rewley House, Oxford (marked R).
There are metered parking spaces on the west and north sides of Wellington Square. More spaces are normally available on the west side of St Giles where it joins Woodstock Road. From here it is only a short walk down Little Clarendon Street and across Wellington Square to Rewley House.
Parking in Wellington Square is charged until 6.30p.m. and costs £3.00 for up to one hour and £5.00 for up to two. Park and Ride buses from Water Eaton, Pear Tree and Redbridge stop at the top of St Giles, a short distance from Rewley House.
Oxfordshire Architectural and Historical Society is a registered charity, registration number 259055.